Skip to main content

2018 ICON Arts and Cultural Awards Held

May 07, 2018 01:38PM ● By News Desk

The Advisory Boards of the ABC Fund at Community Foundation of Acadiana (CFA) recently hosted the 2018 ICON Arts and Cultural Awards presented by IBERIABANK. The second-annual ceremony honoring ten ICONs was held at Acadiana Center for the Arts in downtown Lafayette.

This year’s ICON Award recipients were:

Philip Gould
Lifetime Achievement in the Visual Arts

Michael Doucet dit BeauSoleil
Lifetime Achievement in the Performing Arts

Dr. Gerald and Geraldine Hubbell

Sonny Landreth
Performing Artist

Dennis Paul Williams
Visual Artist
D.L. Menard

Service League of Lafayette/Junior League of Lafayette

Blue Monday as represented by John Williams
Leadership in the Creative Economy-Project

Steve and Cézanne Nails of Dockside Studios
Leadership in the Creative Economy-Individuals

Alex "PoeticSoul" Johnson
Rising Star

At the event, an original oil painting by Francis X. Pavy was auctioned off and there were performances by a number of cultural influencers and artists, including Lost Bayou Ramblers, Basin Arts Collective, Blue Monday Jam Band, Baritone Paul Sahuc and more.  

Baritone Paul Sahuc

The ICON Arts and Cultural Awards gala event is a celebration of local artists and cultural trailblazers whose contributions have made an impact on the Acadiana community. Proceeds from the ICON Awards benefit the ABC Fund, which was established to create and sustain an endowment to support arts, business and culture. Additional information on the ABC Fund and ICON Awardees is available at

The ABC Fund’s Mission is to sustain, advocate for and protect Acadiana’s art and cultural community by providing ongoing business and financial support to artists and musicians, as well as art and cultural organizations throughout the region.

Cover image includes 2018 ICON Awardees from L-R: Steve and Cezanne Nails, Sonny Landreth, Larry Menard, Dennis Paul Williams, Philip Gould, Geraldine and Dr. Gerald Hubbell, Johnathan Williams, Alex “PoeticSoul” Johnson, Janet Begnaud, Michael Doucet dit BeauSoleil, Sally Herpin, Sarah Berthelot and Mary Courville.