Skip to main content

LEF Announces 2019 Teacher Award Finalists

Dec 14, 2018 11:44AM ● By Staff Writer

The Lafayette Education Foundation (LEF) has announced its 16 finalists for the 21st Annual Teacher Awards, honoring outstanding educators K-12 throughout Lafayette Parish.

More than 1600 nomination letters were received for the 2019 awards which included nearly 1000 educators. From the nominations, 16 finalists were chosen based on their reach, impact, and dedication promoting excellence in education.  

The sixteen finalists are separated into four categories, each category consisting of four nominees: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, and Inspirational.

The LEF Teacher Awards will be held in January at the Heymann Performing Arts Center. Learn more at

2019 LEF Teacher Awards Finalists

Elementary School Category
Teacher                                                   School   
Bridget Begnaud                             J. Wallace James Elementary School
Morgan Deshotels                          Sts. Peter & Paul Catholic School
Christy Taylor                                  Woodvale Elementary School
Hilary Wynn                                    Sts. Peter & Paul Catholic School

Middle School Category
Sarah Couvillon                               Acadiana Renaissance Charter Academy
Rachel Ducharme                            Our Lady of Fatima School
Madyson Hope Lopez-Arceneaux   LJ Alleman Fine Arts Magnet Academy
Monique "Nicky" Walker                 LJ Alleman Fine Arts Magnet Academy

High School Category
Cathrine Duex                                 Ovey Comeaux High School
Amy Hodgins                                  Ovey Comeaux High School
Cathryn Martin                                Teurlings Catholic High School
Dr. Debbi Reed                                Southside High School

Inspirational Category
Jennifer Bellot                                 Woodvale Elementary School
Katie Courville                                 Youngsville Middle School
Kova Herrick                                    Acadiana High School
Katie Slattery                                   LPSS Talented Theatre Program

File Photo: Face Media Group